Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
about the Florida Concealed Weapons or Firearm License
How much does the Concealed Weapon or Firearm License cost?
The cost of the license is $112.00. (This fee INCLUDES the $42 fingerprint processing fee mentioned below.) This is payable to the Division of Licensing at the time your application is submitted. As the Division of Licensing does not accept cash, this amount is payable via check or money order ONLY.
How long is the license valid for?
The license is valid for seven (7) years from its date of issuance. At present, the renewal fee is $65.00.
Can I verify my eligibility for a license prior to submitting my application?
Yes! By clicking the button below, you will be taken to the Division of Licensing's "Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Preliminary Eligibility Determination" page. By answering a few questions, you may receive an instant determination of your licensure eligibility!
How soon after I apply will I receive my license?
Simply put, how you choose to submit your application determines you wait time. The wait times are broken down as follows:
- Submit application IN PERSON to Division regional office: approximately 7 to 10 business DAYS.
- Submit application BY MAIL to Division regional office: approximately 6 to 8 WEEKS.
- Submit application BY MAIL to Division's Tallahassee Headquarters: approximately 6 to 8 MONTHS.
When applying in person to a Division regional office, the clerk WILL FINGERPRINT AND PHOTOGRAPH YOU FOR FREE. The Division of Licensing DOES charge a $42 fee to PROCESS your fingerprints (run prints through state and national criminal databases) once they have been taken. This fee is unavoidable.
NOTE: Beware of unscrupulous instructors or schools that purposely mislead prospective students by promising 'value-added services' for free such as taking or "preparing" fingerprints.
Only a Division regional office or law enforcement agency can fingerprint for the FL CWFL.
Again, fingerprints and photographs are taken for free when an applicant submits their application in person at a Division regional office.
I already own a gun. Can I bring my own gun to the class?
Absolutely! However, we ask you to keep a few things in mind. First, under no circumstances are loaded weapons or live ammunition permitted in the classroom AT ANY TIME. Should you wish to bring a firearm to class, please ensure that the firearm is both unloaded and securely encased. We do request that concealed firearms NOT be worn into the class, as the introduction of a loaded firearm and/or the introduction of live ammunition into the sterile class environment creates the potential for a safety issue. For the shooting portion of the class, we encourage students to get as much trigger time with the firearm they choose to carry or use for personal defense as possible. Further, our knowledgeable instructors are more than happy to help you become familiar with your firearm.
Do you use real firearms and live ammunition in your trainings?
Absolutely and always! In fact, to use anything other than a real firearm and live, fully-functional ammunition is ILLEGAL pursuant to Florida statute. Any use of Airsoft, BB guns, Simunitions or any other type of modified training ammunition or modified firearm to conduct training for a FL Concealed Weapon or Firearm License applicant can and will result in the suspension or revocation of a licensee's license, and the revocation of an instructor's certification.
Where are your firearms training classes conducted?
Unless otherwise noted in the course synopsis, On-Sight Tactical Training conducts all of its classroom programming at its officers in Estero, FL. For the shooting component(s), On-Sight utilizes a range facility within a short driving distance from the Estero headquarters.